top of page

Into the Known: Life and Death


Are we sure we know what life is? I’ve lived a handful of times and I’m still not certain. It could be referred to something biological: an operating and consuming organism seeking to live as long as possible to replicate itself. It could be referred to something spiritual: withdrawing from temptation in the pure pursuit for enlightenment of the soul. It could be activities: instead of obsessing with one passion; it’s a combination of many – hence why I’m often told to ‘get a life.’ There’s no wrong answer here. Life is wondrous, terrifying, joyful, miserable and lethal. Some say immortality is better than having to time-out because death is scary.

The unknown is scary. It’s wired in all beings to be afraid of the dark jungle because there might be a predator lurking there. Death is thicker and darker than a jungle. It’s an end to life, the finality, but it’s totally immaterial. Most have experienced death, whether a loved one dying, photos on the internet or working in the funeral industry. It’s not pleasant, however, when you see the body; it’s just an empty vessel. The person is gone. Death isn’t unknown to me; I’ve experienced several times before and it’s hard every time.

In every life I remembered: whether I was ready for death due to extreme age of my body or sudden and unforeseen death, my soul laboured to pull away from the vessel I called home. The shock of no longer having lungs or a heartbeat was like being thrown into icy waters. Clawing to find something, anything, to feel alive again to escape the void. After a short while, I realised that nothingness cannot exist, because I still am. A free, amorphous thing with disjointed thoughts and memories trying to make order. This re-emergence of awareness happens in the Plane of the Dead (what I call it), but it’s not just a place where the deceased go – it’s a place for souls who wait to be reborn.

The Plane of the Dead is a dishonest name since it’s bursting with unliving souls that wonder and wander. The land of this place takes after the soul’s mindscape, it heavily varies on every soul and changes at an instant. Of course, many souls seek to reclaim their former lives by passing beyond the Plane’s borders to where the living tread, but they gain little comfort in their chosen eternity. I could be wrong; once I was done with a life, I sought to move on. The only thing I held from the previous life is the memories, some pleasant and horrible. Some I want to do all over again, while others I avoid repeating.

The gone lives don’t evaporate into the ether; they survive in the invincible soul. For those who remember past lives or life between lives, it’s a gift and burden. I consider them as guides for a better life after this one and a better future for the life we are in now.


some links to check out >> https://lifebetweenlivesregression.com.au/

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page